{Two Souls Turning to One}

genesis 2This week on Thursday, Hubby and I celebrate our five-year anniversary. Five years…I can hardly believe it! In five years, we have moved 4 times, lived in two states, bought two houses, raised a puppy, crossed the Georgia-Florida line countless times, all the while growing closer together as husband and wife.

The song I walked down the aisle to was Shawn McDonald’s Confess. Hubby introduced me to this song when we were dating and it instantly became one of my favorites. It’s a beautiful song about our weakness as humans and need for Christ.

Confess

Can I sing You a song?
About what happens when You’re gone
My whole world seems to fall
And I don’t feel like myself at allI must confess that it’s true
That I’m nothing without You
We’re two souls turning to one
‘Cause without You I feel undoneCan I sing You a song?
About what happens when You’re gone
Everything around comes crashing down
I find myself on the groundI must confess that it’s true
That I’m nothing without You
We are two souls turning to one
‘Cause without You I feel undoneI must confess that it’s true
That I’m nothing without You
We are two souls turning to one
‘Cause without You I feel undone

And though this song is really about our dependence on Christ and our call to be one with Him, I could not help but think about how the words can be applied to marriage.

In Genesis 2:24, we read that man is to leave his father and mother and cleave to his wife, and they will become one flesh. Becoming one flesh is not just related to our physical bodies. It includes sharing our thoughts, dreams, joys, sufferings, hopes, fears, successes, and failures with our spouse. Becoming one flesh also means being one soul.

two souls turning to one
I particularly love this line in the song because it communicates that becoming one is a process. It does not happen immediately after you’ve declared your vows, over night, or even in the first week of marriage. It requires a life-time of work and commitment. Hubby and I are still in the process of becoming one soul. And there are times when it’s easy and tempting to forget that we are supposed to be one because of our sinful nature. But I urge you to read the following excerpt from a blog post I recently read: Living Out Oneness. The writer sheds light on what it really means to be one flesh and soul in marriage as God has designed it.

My husband is not an other to whom I am merely extending favors (for which he should be thankful and give me something in return): He and I are one, and whatever I do unto him, I do unto myself.

Trying to measure which one of us gives more and which one gets more out of our marriage is not only futile but foolish, for whatever I give him, I actually give to my own self.

If I cause him harm, then I only harm myself.

If I neglect him, it is no different from neglecting my very own being.

I am not being a martyr when I sacrifice for him, for he and I are one. To pursue his highest good is to pursue mine.

~Taste & See Blog

Do you relate to the lessons imparted here? Let me know in the comments! Also, if you’re on Facebook, go like my Facebook page!

12 thoughts on “{Two Souls Turning to One}

  1. Happy anniversary! 🙂 It took me a very long time (maybe around the 7th year of my marriage?) to internalize fully how my husband and I are truly one flesh. You’re so blessed to have known its reality from the outset!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wishing you a wonderful and joyful anniversary – and many beautiful surprises in the years ahead. (I’m going to look up that song on YouTube!)

    Rob (my husband) and I spend time with couples as they prepare to be married, and try to express the concepts of Genesis 2:24 – being “real” and hopeful. 😉 Marriage and being a wife is a beautiful gift that continues to grow in worth and depth as your relationship ripens. Rob and I met at 15 and 17, and after 33 years of marriage we continue to both value our relationship and strive to make it deeper and greater. It’s only through God’s grace that we all know what to work toward! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Marriage is wonderful and beautiful. I feel in he last year my hubby and I have grown closer and I can’t wait to see how much closer we get as we continue to become one. 😊 Thank you for reading and for your comment!

      Like

  3. Happy Anniversary. Such a special time to celebrate. We have celebrated 30 years of marriage this year. The vows we took are an absolute blessing & God is our anchor in all things. Thank you for sharing on such a precious part of life.💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

