Yearn for the Lord

O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, In a dry and weary land where there is no water.    {Psalm 63:1}

Yearn for the Lord, campers. That’s my prayer for the 71 campers that will be attending Camp D.O.V.E. (Deaf Outreach through Visual Effects) next week.  Camp D.O.V.E. is near and dear to my heart. It is a week-long retreat for Deaf and hard-of-hearing youth between the ages of 8 and 18. This camp offers them an opportunity to experience Christian fellowship and fun in an inclusive environment. One that values their language and culture.

camp dove
Camper climbing a wall.
camp dove canoe
A camper canoeing in the lake.

In the past, I had the privilege of serving on staff. I began as a counselor for the high school girls, which was fun. But, I quickly realized that my passion (and spiritual gift) is in ASL worship. I love worshiping the Lord in ASL, so when i was asked to help lead the worship the following year, I quickly jumped on it. I experience so much joy when I see campers joining me in worship through ASL.

Sadly, I will not be able to be at camp in flesh this year, but I was given the opportunity to help with worship remotely by translating the songs and recording a video that the staff can watch and learn. I am happy to be able to assist in creating a meaningful worship experience for the campers.

Camp begins this Sunday, June 18th at Camp Twin Lakes in Winder, Georgia. I would like to invite you to pray for camp. Pray that all of the last-minute tasks and details come together smoothly and for the last few day staff to come through. Pray for protection of health and safety. Pray that the staff will have compassion, patience, and joy throughout the week. Pray that campers will be loving toward one another and respectful to staff. But more importantly, pray for personal relationships with Christ to grow. Pray that the campers’ hearts will be open to God’s Word and know that He is the living Water (this year’s theme). Pray that the staff will be filled with God’s spirit and are examples of the love of Christ. And pray for the staff that may not know Jesus as their personal Savior.

The executive and assistant directors are close friends of mine and I know that they would love and appreciate your prayers.

You can learn more about Camp D.O.V.E on their website. If you’d like to make a donation or provide a scholarship for a child, click here. Also, go like them on Facebook!

Brethren, pray for us. {1 Thessalonians 5:25}

 

CampDove-Wording_Black

 

5 thoughts on “Yearn for the Lord

  1. I love this!!!! That is one area the church as a whole has neglected ensuring there is sign language during church services so this makes me so happy to hear there’s such a Christian camp.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! My friend started the camp. She and her husband were legal guardians of a Deaf girl for a few years. One summer she wanted her to be able to go to camp like her other kids but no camp would provide an interpreter for her. So she started her own camp. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

