X-Double Minus

I know it’s been quiet over here on This Georgia Peach. I could say that I’ve just been busy wrapping up the school year with my high school students, but the honest truth is I’ve been stuck. Stuck on the letter ‘X.’ If you haven’t been following me long, I’ve been doing the AtoZ challenge. I had things I wanted to share with you, but I could not think of any titles that started with ‘X’… so I let it sit for a while. 😬

Yesterday, I decided to look up words that started with ‘x’ for inspiration and came across the idiom: x-double minus. I haven’t heard this one before. It describes something that is done extremely poorly, like me keeping up with my blog this past month. 

Image Description: A close up of me shrugging my shoulders and holding one hand up, gesturing “oops!”

Though I only know two languages, I love language. So, while we are on the subject of idioms, I thought I’d share five funny idioms from other languages. 
French

Idiom: Occupe-toi de tes oignons.

Literal translation: “It’s not your onions.” Or “Go deal with your own onions.”

Image Description: A close up of onions.

This basically means it’s none of your business. 
Swedish 

Idiom: Att glida in på en räkmacka

Literal translation: “To slide in on a shrimp sandwich.”

I love this one! This saying refers to a person who did not have to work to get where they are.

Japanese

Idiom: 猫の手も借りたい

Literal translation: “Willing to borrow a cat’s paws.”

You’d say this when you’re willing to take help from anyone because you’re so busy. 

German

Idiom: Tomaten auf den Augen haben.

Literal translation: “You have tomatoes on your eyes.”

Imagine description: a girl holding tomatoes over her eyes.

This saying is used when you want to tell someone that they are not seeing what everyone else sees. This only refers to real objects, not abstract meanings or concepts.

Polish

The idiom: Z choinki się urwałaś?

Literal translation: “Did you fall from a Christmas tree?”

You’d say this to a person that is not well informed, and it shows.

You can read more idioms from other languages here

**********************************************

I hope y’all had a great Memorial Day and have not been so busy that you needed to borrow a cat’s paw! 

2 thoughts on “X-Double Minus

Leave a Reply

