RP “Truths”

A joyful heart makes a cheerful face, but with a heartache comes depression.      ~Proverbs 15:13

 

It’s the last day of RP Awareness Month. Today, I would like to share some RP “Truths.” These “Truths” came about when a young woman with RP named Katey decided to use humor to not only help her cope with this condition, but also to educate the public about what we RPers go through on a daily basis. And they are great!

I’m going to share 10 of my favorite ones, but you can find more of these funny, but oh so true, “Truths” on her Facebook page (RP “Truths”) and her blog.

rp-truth-1
RP “Truths”#001: “It’s right there.” Doesn’t help.

One time I dropped a black hair tie on a dark floor…I could not find it for the life of me. After watching me search for it from afar, a girl decided to “help” by saying, “It’s right there!”…really? Could you be a little more specific? Like, “Near your right foot.”Important rule when giving directions to a blind or low vision person, be specific.

rp-truth-8
RP “Truths” #008: “Maybe you should try glasses?” I never thought of that. Thanks so much.

…I have no words. And yes, believe it or not, someone did recommend glasses to me. -_ –

rp-truth-121
RP “Truths” #121: When you walk into a store and an associates voice greets you, but you don’t see them…so you just talk to the ENTIRE store front until they finally come into your line of sight.

YES. Except I usually just smile and turn my head towards every part of the storefront.

rp-truth-122
RP “Truths” #122: Cleaning — The act of continually finding spots you missed when you thought you had gotten it all picked up. #thanksblindspots

The struggle is real. I usually discover the dirty spots or left over dust piles when I walk away and come back.

rp-truth-153
RP “Truths” #153: Softly patting the table in hopes of not knocking anything over while looking for an object…

Don’t mind me when I do this. It’s this or spill all drinks on the table…

rp-truth-high-five
RP “Truths” #154: When someone tries to give you a high five and you don’t even notice…

Remember…I have no peripheral vision. I am basically looking out of a toilet paper roll hole. Put that hand in my visual field and I’ll give you a high five.

rp-truth-160
RP “Truths” #160: When you try to avoid running into something, but end up running into another object instead.

Yep…story of my life.

rp-truth-164
RP “Truths” 164: When someone tells you to REMEMBER a certain object is in a certain spot….and you trip over it 5 minutes later. #yeahthatsgottamove

Hubby warns me of this all the time and without fail, I run into said object EVERY time. #yeahthatsgottmoveNOW He also tells me that I’m not allowed to yell at him because he warned me about it…ok, fair enough.

rp-truth-167
RP “Truths” #167: When someone tries to show you something on the computer screen, but you can’t find the mouse…So you take a split second and move the pointer to the upper corner of the screen (to be able to see it again) but they don’t understand what you’re doing, so they shout, “No! Not up there!” Chill. Seriously.

Ok, so no one has actually said this to me, but I use this trick all the time! I always just automatically move it in the direction of the upper right corner of the screen. It’s second nature to me now.

rp-truth-124
RP “Truths” #124: Telling my blanket to get “off the couch” while my dog looks at me from across the room…Need I say more?

I have not personally done this…yet. But it was too funny not to share.

 

For the despondent, every day brings trouble; for the happy heart, life is a continual feast. ~Proverbs 15:15

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “RP “Truths”

  1. So many are valid for other VI things too.
    Cleaning… let’s just say I don’t see anything dirty here 😉 so better keep a cleaning schedule and stick to it.
    Other moment: when people tell you something is “over there”, or warn you about things and people that are behind you, when people complain your computer or phone looks all weird or the screen is broken when it’s just off …
    Funny VI moments: when you lose everything home. I lost a big vacuum cleaner once, didn’t remember where it was. I learned to not clean and drink wine on the same time because I’d spend half an hour for hunting for the glass afterwards (living room, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, one of each – takes talent)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I lost my blind kitty like last week… because he was too lazy to reply when i called for him 🙂 i guess he was soaking sun for like a few hours in the living room while I was searching everywhere indoors. Heh.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh man, I’m always overlooking y dog. I’ll call her to come back in the house and don’t even notice her walking right past me. I’m still yelling, “Rosie! Come innnn!” It takes me a minute before I realize she’s standing right next to me 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

