Quick! Catch this piece of egg!

In continuing with RP Awareness Month, I would like to share a funny story.

Hubby and I recently went on a cruise to the Caribbean. We are no strangers to cruising, as we have probably been on 4 or 5 since we’ve gotten married, however, this vacation was probably the best one we’ve been on. Not because of the ship itself, which was awesome, but because we had a chance to unplug from our busy lives and social media for a whole week and just relax.

feet-cruise
Image Description: Two sets of legs stretched out in front of a view of the bow of the ship and the ocean.

About half way through the week, we decided to go to the specialty hibachi restaurant that was on board. I’ve been to several hibachi restaurants, including Benihana, but as far as entertainment goes, none of them compare to this restaurant. The show was spectacular! Our cook engaged us the entire time with songs, new jokes, and new tricks. He had us taking turns singing parts of songs. He turned the pile of rice into a beating heart and sang a love song. He even made the scrambled eggs into a dancing/flying cobra, to which he appropriately sang, “I believe I can fly.”

It was all fun and games until he insisted on flicking a small piece of egg into my mouth…a morsel.

Now remember, due to RP, I have zero peripheral vision. A lack of peripheral vision makes it difficult to track things, especially small things, that are thrown or even kicked across the ground. Tracking a ping pong ball, for example, is a nightmare. Don’t ask me to play ping pong. You might as well be playing with your gold fish.

gold-fish
Image Description: A gold fish blowing bubbles.

So imagine me trying to catch (in my mouth) a morsel of egg….

I tried to get out of playing the game but the cook would not take no for an answer. So I thought, “Well, maybe I can do this.”

egg
Image Description: The cook, an Asian man, in position to hurl the morsel of egg into my mouth.

With a flick of his spatula, the small piece of egg flew across the table. As I tried to keep my eyes on the morsel, I tilted my head back, opened my mouth, and willed the small piece of egg to land in my mouth. But it vanished from my field of vision and in a panic I closed my eyes… It landed on my face and fell into my lap…everyone laughed, including me, and the cook asked, “Why you close your eyes?!?”

complicated
Image Description: Text reads, “I can see. But I can’t. #itscomplicated.”

The worst part is he made me do it again! This time I kept my eyes opened, and again it vanished and reappeared on my face.

I’m not going to lie, this was a bit tortuous for me because losing my sight is not fun nor is it funny. But I laughed anyway, which helps me get through it all, because, after all, “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” {Proverbs 17:22}

6 thoughts on “Quick! Catch this piece of egg!

      1. Laughter is possible when the soul depends on the Holy Spirit to be its energy and strength.

        Does Jesus care when my way is dark
        With a nameless dread and fear?
        As the daylight fades to
        Into deep night shades,
        Does He care enough to be near?

        O yes, He cares, I know He cares,
        His heart is touched with my grief;
        When the days are weary,
        The long night dreary,
        I know my Savior cares.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

