Leave Resolutions Behind: #myoneword

About a week ago, a friend introduced me to the My One Word experiment. For those of you who are not familiar with this movement, it is essentially an alternative to making New Year’s resolutions. Instead of making lists of changes you want to make, you chose one word. One word. One word to focus on for the entire year. One word that will hopefully help you grow and improve.

My One Word is PERCEIVE.

perceive
Image Description: Handlettered piece that reads, “Perceive, Isaiah 43:19” inside drawn circles adorned with leaves. Below the circle reads “#myoneword2017.”

When I had settled on this word, doubt crept into my mind. I started comparing my word with my friends’ words. Maybe this word is too broad? Is it a good word? Maybe I should do something more simple, like blessings or trust….

Then, I thought, “Is this Satan trying to convince me that God couldn’t teach me anything through this word?” He would do something like that. He would love nothing more than to keep me from perceiving anything from God. Once I realized Satan’s scheme, I felt God’s reassurance of my word choice.

Don’t dig up in doubt what you planted in faith. ~ Elizabeth Eliot

So, confidently, I declare PERCEIVE as my one word. I chose this word after someone pointed out Isaiah 43:19 to me.

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.

If you’ve been following me at all, you’ll know that I recently moved from Georgia to Florida. You’ll also remember that I am gradually losing my sight due to Retinitis Pigmentosa. Isaiah 43:19 spoke volumes to me in regards to these two things. In the midst of the changes in my location and sight, God has blessed me. In the last few months, I have been trying to be more mindful of His blessings and I want to continue to perceive His blessings. Perceive, that is become aware of, know, and identify with all five of my senses, the way He is making in the “wilderness and the streams in the wasteland” for me.

Just a side note: I don’t consider Florida a wilderness or a wasteland!

May 2017 be a year of perceiving His blessings!

One thought on “Leave Resolutions Behind: #myoneword

Leave a Reply

