Kissing 2016 Goodbye: A Reflection

If you’re on social media, you’ve probably noticed this hashtag going around: #2016sucks. Maybe this year was hard for some, but for me it was a great year.

It was around this time of the year that I learned that we would be planting new roots in Florida. Though I knew this move was coming, it still hit me hard. When my husband advertised on our church’s Facebook page that we would be putting our house on the market soon, I cried. I cried when people immediately expressed interest in looking at our house. Our first home. And I cried again when it went under contract.

Obviously, this was an emotional time for me. After all, I had lived in Georgia my whole life and I was a proud Georgia Peach. But, again, 2016 was overall great and full of blessings.

The Last Few Months in Georgia

We lived in our house almost up to the end of the school year, so I didn’t have to live somewhere temporally for long, nor did I have to leave my sweet students early. I was blessed with a great group of and I was sure to enjoy every minute with them. I even received sweet gifts and notes before I left. One student painted a beautiful canvas for my new house based on a picture I took while visiting a light house in New Yo

img_0952
Hubby and I standing in front of our Georgia brick home.

rk. It is the first painting you see when you enter our house. Needless to say, I was so grateful that I did not have to say goodbye early.

In between packing up our first home, we were sure to spend time with family, neighbors, and friends, curl up next to the fireplace, enjoy avocado egg rolls at our favorite restaurant, and host one more Easter meal.

In early May, the day finally came. We turned the lock on our first home for the last time. But no tears were shed. I had had time to reflect on and make a few more memories to cherish. I was ready for the next chapter.

New Home with a Community Pool

I love our new home! I think it has really come together very nicely. I also love having a community pool. When we started looking for a house here, I did not want a pool. I was not interested in costs and maintenance involved in having a pool and luckily neither did Hubby. With a community pool, we can enjoy the pool without the stresses of maintaining it ourselves.

The community pool has also been great for me personally as a deafblind person. I am NOT a homebody and I get stir crazy easily. Unfortunately, I cannot simply jump in the car and go when I get the itch. Luckily, I have access to Uber, but the pool has come to the rescue many times over the summer as my short walk to the pool relieves this itch. During the summer months and well into the beginning of October, you could catch me at the pool reading a book.

pool
Image Description: A close up of an open book on my lap. My legs and red painted toes are stretched straight out on a pool chair. The pool is in the background.

Fourth Year Anniversary

Hubby and I celebrated four years in July! We enjoyed a nice meal together complete with dessert. I am blessed to be doing life with this man and look forward to celebrating our fifth anniversary in 2017. Hopefully we will be able to take a special trip!

Girls’ Weekend

Because I now work from home and can set my own schedule, I was finally able to join my mom, aunt, and cousins on their yearly Girls’ Weekend. We spent several days in my cousin’s vacation house in the mountains. There’s something about a girls’ trip that is so good for the soul. We laughed and cried over memories of my aunt and grandmother who were no longer with us. We enjoyed great food. And of course, we hit the cute little boutique stores in town. I can’t wait for next year’s trip!

Image Description: Two photos sit side by side. To the left is a wooden table set for a meal with a mountain theme. To the right is a scenic photo of trees and bushes with the Smokie Mountains in the distance.

A New Church Small Group

You may remember me mentioning my church small group in previous posts, but y’all, this group has been an amazing blessing. I intended on joining a different group but I was in the right place at the right time and was invited to try another group. I was welcomed with open arms and immediately felt a connection with these girls.

Oh and get this, y’all. One of my new friends is also a Georgia peach. She grew up in the same city and went to the same university! We just missed each other by a few years :).

The Lord has truly blessed me this year and I believe He will in the new year. #2016blessings

6 thoughts on “Kissing 2016 Goodbye: A Reflection

  1. It is wonderful looking forward to a fresh new year! Was great seeing you after Christmas. Hope there are more visits we will share this year.

    Like

  2. It’s hard to let go of things, but God is good to give us something new to hold on to. Isaiah 43:19: “See I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness, and streams in the wasteland.” (or swimming pools. smile)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

