H – Homecoming

As I have stated before, Georgia will always be home to me. Yes, Florida is home, too, but it was wonderful to be able to go home to Georgia for Thanksgiving. Quality time with my parents and siblings was needed.

I was also blessed with the chance to stay the week after Thanksgiving as my wonderful in-laws graciously agreed to take care of our fur-child, Rosie.

While enjoying the extra quality time with my parents, I paid a visit to my online students at school. (This is the same school that I taught at for 5 years.)

I decided to surprise them and I couldn’t wait to see the looks on their faces! Unfortunately, however, the secret got out and only one of my students was truly surprised when I walked into class. Nonetheless, it was great to see their faces again!

After class, I had lunch with my bff and some of my former students. Nostalgia flooded in as I sat across from my bff. We used to hide in our classrooms during lunch and just chat about anything and everything. One of the things I miss most about being physically at the school. I hated thinking about leaving again.

Fortunately, I didn’t dwell too much on this thought.

I believe it is good to look back at the good times and recount the blessings God has given us. We should always be thankful to Him. The danger, however, comes when you dwell on the past and neglect to recognize, receive, and thank God for the current blessings He is bestowing on us. I am thankful for the time I had with my family, friends, and students in Georgia. But I am also very grateful for God’s many blessings on my new life in Florida. I am LOVING it here. Florida has been a wonderful change for my husband and I, and I can’t wait to see what else God is going to do in our lives here!

A snapshot of downtown Athens, Georgia. “Don’t say, ‘Why were the former days better than these?’ Since it is not wise of you to ask this.” -Ecclesiastes 7:10
Leave a Reply

