F – Forget Traditional Definitions of Beauty

Recently, I saw a video by BuzzFeed that featured blind people. In the video, each person explained how they see beauty.

“Beauty for me means real simple things…just opening my eyes in the morning and listening to the birds outside my window chirping. It’s the feeling that I’m alive.”

“Going to the beach and sitting by the shore, to me is beauty…”

“…beauty is character, personality, the way people carry themselves. Basically, it’s just the way the person is. And some people can be very pretty and beautiful inside.” I like this description because it reflects what God says true beauty is. Our beauty “should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight” (1 Peter 3:4).

But I particularly love the way that one man describes beauty. “It’s an experience…the smell of warm baked cookies, the warm breeze against your skin, the feel of grass underneath your feet when you’re walking in the front yard.” I loved his description because it focused on feeling and smelling beauty and I feel that this is how deafblind people perceive beauty in the world, through the senses of touch, smell, and taste.

You can see the video yourself, here.

While I intend to take in all the beautiful sights as long as I can, I will rethink beauty and know that even without sight, I can perceive it. The warmth of a blanket; the smell of fresh warm bread; the feel of soft scarves; warmth radiating from a fire; kind words from family and friends; a helping hand; the taste and feel of dark chocolate melting on your tongue; hugs; the sense of peace from God. These are indeed beautiful things.

fireplace
Image Description: A bright orange and yellow fire in a fireplace. A banner reading “FALL” hangs on the mantle.
2 thoughts on “F – Forget Traditional Definitions of Beauty

Leave a Reply

