D – Do It Anyway

A healthy spirit conquers adversity, but what can you do when the spirit is crushed? Proverbs 18:14

In continuing with my personal A to Z challenge, I would like to talk about words. We all know that words are powerful. They have the power to build someone up or tear them down (Proverbs 12:6). It seems nowadays (or perhaps always) that it takes many positive words to build someone up but only one negative or discouraging word to crush someone’s spirit.

Have you ever had someone tell you that you cannot do something? How about that it’s pointless for you to learn or do something? Don’t listen to them. Don’t give others that power to tell you what you can and cannot do. By doing so you are giving them permission to crush your spirit.

I once had an audiologist question my desire and pursuit of learning ASL when I was a teenager. “What’s the point?” She asked my mom. “She’s going blind.” I was shocked that she even said such words, but, luckily, I had enough sense to ignore her comment and went on with my ASL studies. If I had listened to, no, if I had believed her words as truth, I would not have experienced the joys that ASL has introduced into my life. I would not have met the many people along my journey to fluency. I would not have taught high school students this beautiful language. I would not be teaching families with deafblind children who need it to communicate. I would have allowed her words to rob me of these great experiences.

I recently saw an interview featuring a high school football player, named Marvin Pearson, who is blind. Yes, you read that correctly, blind. And I don’t mean he has low vision; he is completely and utterly blind. Oh, and Marvin is also deaf. He wears a cochlear implant so he can communicate orally, but my point is Marvin is a deafblind football player. You can view the interview yourself here.

I’m sure Marvin heard a discouraging word or two (or hundreds) when he first mentioned wanting to play football. But did he allow such words to crush his spirit and his dream? No. He’s doing it anyway. He is proving to the world that deafblind people can do anything…ok, except drive. So, I say to you, what Duke Ferguson once said, “do what they think you can’t do.” Do it anyway. 

do-what-they-think-you-cant-do
Image description: A close up of a winding stair case going up a brick stairwell. The quote by Duke Ferguson is printed on the image, “Do what they think you can’t do.”
Leave a Reply

